Website Revenge!

Birmingham Community Healthcare NHS Trust

The Trust's 'Administration' is in crisis - this is just one example of how they have treated me (many more will follow). I am not a liar or a fool: so why treat me like one?

DISCLAIMER. This Website is based on my experiences and any opinions expressed are mine alone. I apologise unreservedly for any errors or omissions which, if drawn to my attention, will be corrected. I have done my very best to make my account both honest and accurate, and since establishing my first Website in September 1999 no errors of fact have been drawn to my attention: nor have I been obliged by anyone to withdraw any website content. Whenever attempts have been made to close a site my ISP has always supported me, for which I am very grateful. I have evidence to support the claims that I am making.

*©Website Copyright PAD

email: peter.bmw@tiscali.co.uk

15th February 2011

Please read Mrs Alison Last's email dated 24th December which I reproduce below. Then put yourself in MY POSITION! I have to start somewhere, more examples will follow.

What occurred on 23rd December last. The background to this one debacle, of many!

Within minutes of my receiving desperately needed orthoses by courier I contacted the Trust's Complaints Manager Mrs Margaret Mitchell (Mrs Kirsty Hughes was on leave). I advised her in very specific terms that the orthoses that I had received were completely unsuitable. I advised her that the thick skeletal base layer was made from a hard material: not soft, like every other pair of orthoses they had provided me with. I explained that the skeletal base layer was beige-brown and not white. I also made the point that even if they had been to my prescription, or anything remotely like it, they were miles too big to fit into the only pair of shoes I had, a pair that Worcester Royal had supplied to me which had been completely worn out for sometime - they had only been supplied as a stop-gap measure .

I also advised Mrs Mitchell that the manufacturers that had always been used in the past were moving factories and that they had told me that they would not be re-opening until 'towards the end of January'!

It was an emergency because, as the Trust were well aware, I had desperately needed replacement orthoses for sometime, as all the orthoses I had were completely worn out. So that the Trust could overcome the problem of their suppliers, I also advised Mrs Mitchell of an alternative source of supply: Blatchford, the Orthotics Providers to Worcester Royal who had originally supplied me with the shoes and who had been obliged to retain casts of my feet i.e. the 'lasts'.

Mrs Mitchell promised to get on to it straight away: and that was the last I heard!

 

Subsequently, the Trust completely ignored everything I had told them. According to the Trust I was wrong: but I was NOT wrong - every word that I had told them was true - I had the orthoses in front of me at the time, and still have them! When Mrs Alison Last (and Mrs Kirsty Hughes) subsequently visited me at home, to deliver a letter from Mr Mark Senior, she enquired whether she could take them away with her - I couldn't help smiling! So out came a camera and she took photographs.

Note to CEO - You have recently declined to become involved and that was a mistake. I am satisfied that due to your regular involvement, you should realise exactly how I have been treated these last FIVE MONTHS. What fun your Staff have had dictating to me, ignoring me, reneging on their promises, refusing me appropriate orthoses and Orthotic treatment etc., and what fun I am going to have with your Trust, unless you start to treat me WITH RESPECT. The choice of what to do next is in your hands. I hope that you will properly investigate my claims before I cause your Trust too much further embarrassment - or you may choose to attempt to stop me by other means, but that would I believe be risky and cast you in a very bad light! You have already deprived me of everything I value - with a smile on your corporate faces.

Revenge  is sweet

Please read Mrs Alison Last's email dated 24th December which I reproduce below. Then put yourself in my position! I have to start somewhere, more examples follow shortly.

Here is what she is dictating to me about - what unadulterated arrogance!

The only shoes that I have are fouling my toes - look at the condition of my toe-nails and toes, some of which are like red beacons by bed-time, because of my orthoses! I have reported this to Ms Tracy Taylor to-day when I replied to a letter she sent to me yesterday. Let's see how long I have to wait before anything is done about it! Don't hold your breath if my past experience is anything to go by!

Do the pair of orthoses (insoles) on the right look different to you?

Any one of the Seven Dwarfs would have recognised in a flash that they were wrong, even Dopey! But not this Trust!

To the left: Six pairs of orthoses to my 'usual' prescription - 3 layers of foam total 15mm

To the right: Orthoses provided 23rd December that ruined my Christmas and New Year. I repeatedly advised the Trust that they had a hard skeletal base layer that made them impossible for me to tolerate. It made no difference what I said - I WAS WRONG AND THEY WERE RIGHT: PERIOD! The world and his wife insisted they were 'to my usual prescription'!

Not 15mm of foam - 9mm. Not 165grams in weight, 305grams after they were cut to size!

I will reproduce the Trust's apology - when I get it!

 

Would anyone believe that these shoes were made for the same pair of feet ...

... just study the toes!

... and still the second pair badly fouled my toes and were completely unsuitable in other respects!

Mrs Last's email is depicted in black.

From: Last Alison [mailto:Alison.Last@bhamcommunity.nhs.uk]
Sent: 24 December 2010 14:00
To: Peter Dawson
Subject: delivery of orthoses

Dear Mr Dawson

IT WAS AN EMERGENCY - THE TRUST WAS AWARE MY ORTHOSES HAD BEEN COMPLETELY WORN OUT FOR SOME TIME AND THEY WERE DAMAGING MY FEET.

I am sorry that you are dissatisfied with the orthoses that were delivered to you yesterday, and I understand that you have also made a call to Mark Senior and to my office today.

Neither Mr Senior nor Mrs Last returned my call. Mr Senior has NEVER returned a call from me, and his staff have told me that they had been instructed not to put me through to him or speak to me. I have NEVER IN ALL MY 68-YEARS come across anyone as ARROGANT AND DICTATORIAL as Mr Mark Senior - more about that elsewhere!

The matter has been looked into at the request of the Chief Executive and I can confirm as follows:

MS TRACY TAYLOR THE 'CEO' HAS A LONG HISTORY OF BELIEVING EVERTHING SHE IS TOLD BY HER STAFF AND IGNORING WHAT I SAY. She comes from a nursing background and is a disgrace to her former profession. Yet she must be aware that HER TRUST'S ADMINISTRATION IS IN CRISIS - there is much more evidence of this to come!

You would expect Ms Tracy Taylor 'to care', but it has become obvious to me that she doesn't.

 

Birmingham Community Healthcare NHS Trust's communication system ...

 

.... is a sick joke

  • The orthoses that you have been provided with were only ever intended as an interim solution until such time that a more permanent solution can be reached.
  • It has been over five months since I lodged a Formal Complaint, during which time I have been deliberately deprived of access to an Orthotist. Meanwhile my feet have been allowed to deteriorate dramatically to the extent that I do not believe that they will ever recover. I have also been deprived of what mobility I had. Another Orthotist should have taken over my care straight away as I desperately need replacement shoes.
  • Following on from our conversation, it was agreed that you would be provided with a repeat of your previous prescription as per your request, in order that you would have some orthoses whilst a longer-term solution was reached.
  • There has never been any 'agreement'! Whilst I desperately needed replacement orthoses I had always disagreed with the Orthotics Manager Mr Brian Hopkins' prescription, because he repeatedly refused to tailor it to suit the needs of my left foot.
  • As the service was aware there were some elements of the previous prescription that you were not happy with, Mrs Hughes contacted you to confirm what alterations you had requested, for example removing the rockers.
  • I am not an Orthotist and cannot be expected to design my own orthoses. I do agree that I outlined what I thought would be more suitable - replacing the blue layer altogether and doubling the thickness of the top layer until my feet improved. Both suggestions were ignored! Mrs Hughes, my Designated Complaints Manager telephoned and I refused point blank to have anything to do with the choice of materials, whose trade names meant nothing to me - it was madness. Although I was desperate to obtain replacement orthoses, in fairness to Mrs Hughes, I warned her NOT to get involved, but she ignored me - nothing unusual there!!! I imagine that she had been told to arrange it, the most likely culprit was Mr Mark Senior. Mrs Hughes 'cooked-up' the prescription with someone employed by Otto Bock - it turned out to be completely inappropriate.My feet and mobility suffered as a direct consequence, because replacements were not provided until 2nd February and I had already been kept waiting a long time. It was not until 9th February that Mrs Hughes finally admitted that she knew nothing about 'insoles', as she called them.
  • Mrs Hughes sent information to Otto Bock and Otto Bock made the orthoses that were provided to you yesterday in line with this.
  • This is not the function of an Administrator and it backfired spectacularly - to MY cost.
  • Otto Bock has confirmed that the prescription has been met and that they have taken photographs/measurements to confirm this.
  • Otto Bock MUST have thought that the orthoses were going to be trimmed and fitted by a Orthotist. I had previously decided that Otto Bock were the Orthotics Providers from HELL if my experience is anything to go by!
  • On the inside, worn out orthoses made to the Orthotics Manager Mr Brian Hopkins' 'tired-out' prescription, he repeatedly refused to attempt to tailor them to the very specific requirements of my damaged left foot.

On the outside the completely useless oversized orthoses provided 23rd December 2010 by courier - the fact that the main base layer was very hard and not soft, and a completely different colour stood out!

It spoilt our Christmas and New Year as I had nothing remotely 'fit for purpose' to use until 2nd February and I have to-day reported that they do not fit and are damaging my toes.

Happy Christmas Mr Dawson, from all of us at the Birmingham Community Healthcare NHS Trust! Stay active! Keep fit! Be happy! We will all be thinking of you! Hope you like your electric scooter - pip-pip, it's not everyone that gets one of those for Christmas - enjoy!

... Mrs Last subsequently described the orthoses as ... (to be added)

  • Whilst I am very sorry that you are dissatisfied, the orthoses that have been provided to you were as per the prescription that you agreed with both myself and Mrs Hughes, and Otto Bock have confirmed that the prescription that was provided has been met.

Before I respond to the paragraph above, a little irreverent light relief, that might just lead to a few extra visitors accessing my tasteless website!

(Perhaps the Birmingham Community Healthcare Anatomy Department might use it for training purposes)

I

I

Annual Florida vs Glasgow Belly-Button Jewellery Contest


Florida

 

 

I

 

 

 

I

 

 

 

I

 

Glasgow


 

... and I am Scottish!

 

 

... and the winner is?

 

Florida!

 

I did not agree this prescription - period! Mrs Alison Last, 'Head of Patient Experience' is also in an Administrative role, when I asked Mrs Hughes what Mrs Last's former 'clinical role' was, Mrs Hughes said that I would have to ask her! She subsequently advised me that Mrs Last was a former Physiotherapist - she should have stuck to that in my opinion. Mrs Last had offended me when we first met, by attempting to lay some of the blame for my situation on an entirely innocent third party who took no part in the referral process. I find that distasteful.

I would like to assure you that the Senior Management Team and all of the staff involved are giving this matter their utmost attention and are trying their hardest to find a solution that meets your requirements.

This is an absurd statement to make and in the circumstances I find it offensive in the extreme. It is just waffle, empty words, and I have received plenty of those, which I will be reproducing on this website.

I DO NOT BELIEVE FOR ONE MOMENT THAT THE DAMAGE THAT THE TRUST HAS DONE TO MY FEET OR MOBILITY SINCE I COMPLAINED CAN EVER BE REVERSED.

The damage that I originally complained about, which I alleged amounted to clinical negligence, almost pales into insignificance when compared to the damage that has been done to my health and mobility in the five months since I complained. I warned the Trust last September that any delay in providing me with suitable clinical treatment would damage my health and they have completely ignored me. I have been deprived of suitable clinical care, orthotic and otherwise, ever since last September: this is how you get treated when you submit a Complaint.

No-one is attempting to find a solution!

Mr Mark Senior promised to arrange an Independent Clinical Review by 'TruLife' who are located in Kings Norton, so I assume that he is familiar with them and their work. I was asked to give my written permission for them to have a copy of my clinical notes and this I did. Their Report was going to be delivered to me on 19th November. Mr Senior's idea of an acceptable 'Independent Clinical Review' was perverse. The Review fell through after I sent the Company who was going to do it, graphics of the shoes that I had been provided with and the worn-out orthoses that I had been obliged to wear. Rather that risk their integrity by basing their Report solely on my clinical notes they insisted on seeing me by appointment and examining my feet; the shoes; and the orthoses: that never took place.

Mr Senior subsequently dictated that any Review would only involve access to my clinical notes which were incomplete i.e. clinical notes did not exist in respect of every clinical appointment. Mr Senior dictated that there would be no appointment, no examination of my feet, no examination of the shoes that they had provided that were much too small, and no examination of the orthoses that his Centre had provided to a prescription that I had always maintained did not best meet my needs. Mr Senior laid down the law and he will now have to accept responsibility for the damage he has been responsible for.

As I am sure you will appreciate it is very difficult to progress matters over the Xmas period but I understand that Mr Senior will be contacting you shortly with a way forwards.

It is the middle of February, FIVE MONTHS HAS ELAPSED SINCE I LODGED MY COMPLAINT AND I HAVE ONLY RECEIVED AN ACKNOWLEDGMENT. THE INVESTIGATING OFFICER IS MR MARK SENIOR AND HE IS PRIMARILY RESPONSIBLE - MS TRACY TAYLOR THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER HAS BACKED HIM EVERY STEP OF THE WAY. I REGARD THEM AS EVIL - HOW CAN THEY TREAT ANOTHER HUMAN BEING IN THIS WAY AND STILL BE IN A JOB?

Be warned! It is in your own interests to read the wording reproduced below NHS emails (i.e. see below). It has been added by the NHS for fear someone let's slip the truth in a moment of madness - how disingenuous is that! It disgusts me and the very fact that it is there should disgust any right-minded Patient - my interpretation of it is that in effect you cannot rely on a word you read! If I am wrong will someone please correct me.

Alison Last

Head of Patient Experience
Birmingham Community Healthcare NHS Trust

The Lodge

Moseley Hall Hospital

Phone: 0121 465 7813

Fax: 0121 465 7802

Mobile : 07595 089 662

Email: alison.last@bhamcommunity.nhs.uk

This e-mail and any files transmitted with it are private and confidential. If you have received it in error you must not use, copy, disclose or store the information contained within this email or attachments. Please notify the sender immediately by using the reply function and permanently delete what you have received. Fair enough.

The statements and opinions expressed in this message are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of Birmingham Community Healthcare NHS Trust. Does that mean that I cannot rely on them? But see below - for a clause that I believe is far more worrying!

Computer viruses can be transmitted by email. Messages and any attached files will have been checked with virus detection software before transmission, however we advise you to check emails and any attachments for the presence of viruses as neither the Trust nor the sender accept responsibility for any viruses transmitted by this email and/or any attachments. Fair enough!

Confidentiality

Are my concerns unwarranted?

COULD THE FOLLOWING CLAUSE LEAD TO THE WRITER BEING LESS THAN FRANK OR EVEN DISCOURAGE THEM FROM ADMITTING MISTAKES THAT HAD BEEN MADE IN WRITING? IT IS IN REGULAR USE. IN PRACTISE ITS USE REPEATEDLY DRAWS ATTENTION TO THE FACT THAT THE CONTENTS OF AN INTERNAL EMAIL FOR EXAMPLE, MIGHT HAVE TO BE DISCLOSED TO A PATIENT WHO LODGES AN 'ACCESS TO MEDICAL RECORDS' APPLICATION, AS WELL AS TO OTHERS. COULD THAT DISADVANTAGE A COMPLAINANT?

OF COURSE IF EVERYONE FOLLOWS THE NHS POLICY OF BEING OPEN AND HONEST, AND ADMITTING TO MISTAKES ONCE THEY BECOME AWARE THAT ONE HAS BEEN MADE, I AM WORRYING FOR NOTHING! WHAT A 'WORRY-GUTS' I AM - CAN ANYONE ASSURE ME THAT I AM NOT BECOMING PARANOID?

The information contained in an email may be subject to disclosure as required by law including under the Freedom of Information Act 2000 and the Data Protection Act 1998 . Unless the information requested is legally exempt from disclosure, we cannot guarantee that we will not provide the whole or part of an email to a third party making a request for information about the content of the email.

The rest is perfectly acceptable so I will refrain from reproducing it.

Today, to their credit, The Royal College of Nurses released a Report that highlighted the appalling care that many elderly Patients had received from the NHS in recent years. The situation is so bad that The Parliamentary and Healthcare Ombudsman Ann Abrahams had also noticed and she added to the debate, that I would describe as raging.

Do I have any Human Rights? Like the right to suitable clinical treatment, an 'Independent Clinical Review', or a copy of Mr Mark Senior's Report in advance of 'The Meeting' (apparently not, without I apply to The Freedom of Information Commissioner - more administration and even further delay), which I have recently declined to attend with good reason. I am not the only person who has absented themselves, full details will be posted on this Website shortly.

 

Click here to return to Index Page

 

*©Web Site Copyright PAD

email: peter.bmw@tiscali.co.uk